Mumbai Monsoons

“Splash! Splash! Splash!”

As the first drops of rain hit the ground there is a sudden exhilaration in my mind. There is something about the monsoons, maybe it is the way they take over the scorching heat of the summer and replace it with cool refreshing calmness, maybe it is the vibrant rainbow we occasionally get to see or may be it is the overwhelming smell of rain on dry earth; whatever it is, the monsoon is my favorite season of the year.

mumbai-monsoons1 (1)

Seriously, how can someone not like the monsoons? And there is double excitement since I live in Mumbai and Mumbai monsoons are LITERALLY to die for! A hot cup of coffee with headphones in the ears admiring the great view from my balcony or sitting on marine drive as the droplets fall on us with the oh-so-perfect view of the mumbai skyline, whichever view it is, it is perfect.

681x454

Some people complain of traffic and water logging and flooded roads but I love it. Okay, I’m being biased. I’m sure it is very hard for them, I mean who would want water up to their knees? But I think for a moment everyone should just forget all the problems and hardships faced and appreciate the beauty of the scene. Life without hardships is like food without water, horrible analogy I know, but the point is bad stuff happens but it is up to us how we find the good in that too and rejoice every moment of it, happily.

So if you’re reading this, find your umbrellas and raincoats; your boots and slippers and call up every friend of yours, dance on ‘Chak dhoom dhoom’ or ‘Barso re’ and have the best time of your lives!

 

 

Tagged , ,

Leave a comment